Not to belabor the subject, but what’s up with these online baby showers? An acquaintance was invited to one today, and I just didn’t get it. I guess I’m not the only one weary of the stupid shower games: some moms-to-be are saying “thanks but no thanks” to them as well (but, don’t worry, there’s still a convenient link to the gift registry). I suppose this online shower thing would actually be really convenient for someone like me who avoids showers like the plague… But it would be nice to know that there was still some sort of low-tech, social gathering happening. Call me old-fashioned, but if you’re lucky enough to be expecting a baby soon, you should be subjected to wearing a hat made out of sticky gift ribbons and paper plates.

Other than that, not much is going on. I swallowed my last birth control pill today, and if the weather cooperates, I will be flying outta here in two days! I don’t even want to consider the possibility of the weather cancelling my flight (a regular occurrence at this time of year… but it WON’T HAPPEN THIS TIME, riiiiight?). There’s still so much to pack, schedule and finalize before I leave that it’s been a great distraction from negative thoughts. It’s hard not to dwell on last year’s experience. The loss was too difficult to bear and the intensity of it all caught me off guard. I’m walking into this protocol knowing that I’m another year older and have half as many follicles as last year, but hey, I’ve gotta try, just one more time.