The first photo is what we left, two weeks ago. The second photo shows what we landed in, several hours later.

The first image shows the snow-covered mountains and untouched barrenlands we left, and the second image shows the green farmlands and houses we landed in.

It was -31° with the windchill where we boarded the plane, and +46° where we landed. DH and I couldn’t shed layers fast enough!

We spent a few days with my aunt (the one we stayed with during IVF treatments) then spent a few days on the West coast for a quick visit to DH’s sis. The timing worked out so that I was able to attend my graduation (no more teachers, no more books!). Finally, we flew back and are settling in with DH’s family until we can find a home to call our own.

The last two weeks have gone by like a whirlwind. I’m definitely experiencing a bit of culture shock. Note the snow and untouched landscape in the first picture taken the plane took off and compare it with the greenery, fields, roads and buildings (civilization!) in the second picture, a few minutes before we landed. Our lifestyle had been at a slower pace. Up until recently, this has felt like a “vacation” but it’s now sinking in that I’m not going back to the place I still call “home.”

…and, I am officially unemployed as of yesterday. YIKES! Except for the boxes of books and other miscellaneous bits we couldn’t sell, we’re no longer tied to a home, car, furniture or most of our “stuff.” I sure hope it leads to new beginnings.

